2011 No Child Left Behind - Blue Ribbon Schools Awardees

The No Child Left Behind – Blue Ribbon Schools Program (NCLB-BRS) is a national recognition program, honoring elementary and secondary schools in the United States that make significant progress in closing achievement gaps or whose students achieve at the highest levels in their state. Through this program, the U.S. Department of Education recognizes and presents as models these elementary and secondary schools.

The U.S. Department of Education allowed the Ohio Department of Education to nominate 14 public schools for the 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools award. At least five (5) of these 14 must have 40 percent or more students who qualify for free or reduced price lunch. Once nominated, these schools must apply to the U.S. Department of Education for this award. In keeping with No Child Left Behind, the application focuses primarily on student performance and scientifically based instructional programs.

There are two categories for nomination: high performing schools and dramatically improving schools. The schools with 40 percent or more poverty may fall into either category. Schools with less than 40 percent poverty only qualify for the high performing category.

The U.S. Department of Education invites the Council for American Private Education (CAPE) to nominate private schools that meet the high performing and dramatically improving criteria for recognition. Private schools interested in being nominated apply directly to CAPE. In submitting nominated schools, CAPE must certify that the schools meet the minimum requirements established by the Department and other criteria used to nominate schools. At a minimum, private school performance is measured by nationally normed tests. If a private school administers both state tests and nationally normed tests, the school must be among the highest in both.

2011 Blue Ribbon School Awardees

Public Schools	District	County
Cardington-Lincoln Elementary School	Cardington-Lincoln Local	Morrow
Citizens Academy	Sponsor: Cleveland	Cuyahoga
	Municipal School District	
Kensington Intermediate Elementary School	Rocky River City	Cuyahoga
Kings Mills Elementary School	Kings Local	Warren
Lake Elementary School	Lake Local	Stark
Maplewood Elementary School	Maplewood Local	Trumbull
Putman Elementary School	Blanchester Local	Clinton
South Range High School	South Range Local	Mahoning
Springboro High School	Springboro Community City	Warren
Timmons Elementary School	Kenston Local	Geauga
Union Elementary School	Upper Sandusky Ex Village	Wyandot
West Boulevard Elementary School	Boardman Local	Mahoning

Private Schools	Located in City	County
All Saints School	Cincinnati	Hamilton
Saint Angela Merici School	Fairview Park	Cuyahoga
Saint Barnabas Catholic School	Northfield	Summit
St. Columban School	Loveland	Clermont
St. Francis Xavier School	Medina	Medina
St. Joan of Arch School	Chagrin Falls	Cuyahoga