

State Committee on Computer Science COSI Columbus, OH 43215 Wednesday, March 30, 2022 9:30 AM – 12:30 PM

Meeting Minutes

Members present: Mike Duffey, John Wiseman, Autum Barry, Bryan Stewart, Chelsey Cook Kohn, David Landreman, Debbie Jackson, Jake Lee, Katie Hendrickson, Lisa Chambers, Paul Sivilotti, Rebekah Michael, Tasha Penwell, Tim Conley, Tom Newman, Tsavo Knott

Members absent: Brent Wise, Courtney Falato, Doug McCullough, Kelli Shrewsberry, Kristi Clouse, Lisa Nolan, Mike Eilerman, Pat Murakami, Paula Naa Quartey, Tonjia Coverdale

Committee facilitator Kelly Gaier-Evans welcomed committee members to the fifth meeting of the State Committee on Computer Science. Committee Chair Mike Duffey motioned to approve votes on the March 9 minutes. The minutes were approved unanimously.

Ms. Gaier-Evans introduced David Landreman, who is replacing Sean Lane as a committee member. Ms. Gaier-Evans gave a brief overview of the March 30 agenda and gave the committee a puzzle to wake up their "inner innovators." Ms. Gaier-Evans restated the committee's charge and the meeting norms.

The committee revisited the topic "How should Ohio collect and report on Computer Science education?" A short conversation ensued with partner discussion whole-group share-out around data for computer science courses offered and how to do a data collection to determine if courses are aligned to the state standards.

After a brief break, Ms. Gaier-Evans broke the committee into small groups. The groups discussed challenges 3-5, in which they received a pre-reading assignment the night before the meeting.

Ms. Gaier-Evans concluded the meeting and gave the committee members an overview of their homework to be completed before the next meeting.

The next meeting will take place on Wednesday, April 20, 2022.