

## State Committee on Computer Science COSI

Columbus, OH 43215 Wednesday, April 20, 2022 9:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

## **Meeting Minutes**

Members present: Mike Duffey, John Wiseman, Autum Barry, Bryan Stewart, Chelsey Cook Kohn, David Landreman, Debbie Jackson, Katie Hendrickson, Lisa Chambers, Paul Sivilotti, Rebekah Michael, Tasha Penwell, Tim Conley, Tom Newman, Tsavo Knott, Brent Wise, Doug McCullough, Kelli Shrewsberry, Kristi Clouse, Lisa Nolan, Mike Eilerman, Patricia Murakami, Tonjia Coverdale

Members absent: Paula Naa Quartey, Jake Lee

Committee facilitator Kelly Gaier-Evans welcomed committee members to the sixth meeting of the State Committee on Computer Science. Committee Chair Mike Duffey motioned to approve votes on the March 30 minutes. John Wiseman and Kelly Gaier-Evans seconded the motion.

Ms. Gaier-Evans gave a brief overview of the April 20 agenda, then gave directions on the breakout group tasks for today's meeting. The goal was to update their recommendations based on the whole group's feedback received on the homework. Each group discussed the feedback given on the recommendation for their challenge before the break.

After a brief break, Ms. Gaier-Evans pulled the breakout groups back together. A spokesperson from each group shared their challenge's feedback. The committee voted all in favor of challenges 3, 4 and 5B recommendations forward. There was a concern about challenge 5A and additional feedback and resources were requested.

An Intel update was given during the last 45 minutes of the meeting. The Industry Panel introduced themselves and answer questions about internships and hiring for computer science-related careers.

Ms. Gaier-Evans concluded the meeting with a second motion from Mike Duffey.

The next meeting will take place on Wednesday, May 11, 2022.