

State Committee on Computer Science Summary COSI Columbus, OH 43215 Wednesday, December 15, 2021 9:30 AM – 12:00 PM

Meeting Minutes

Members present: Mike Duffey, John Wiseman, Tim Conley, Chelsey Cook Kohn, Mike Eilerman, Patricia Murakami, Bryan Stewart, Brent Wise, Debbie Jackson, Jake Lee, Rebekah Michael, Tom Newman, Tasha Penwell, Paul Sivilotti, Autum Barry, Lisa Chambers, Katie Hendrickson, Kelli Shrewsberry, Tonjia Coverdale, Lisa Nolan

Members absent: Kristi Clouse, Courtney Falato, Sean Lane, Doug McCullough

Committee facilitator Kelly Gaier-Evans welcomed committee members to the second meeting of the State Committee on Computer Science. Ms. Gaier-Evans provided a recap of the previous meeting including a review of the committee's charge and gave a preview of today's meeting agenda.

Committee Chair Mike Duffey and Committee Vice-Chair John Wiseman gave an overview of the public comment received between the first and second meetings. They each shared comments they felt were of most value to the committee. Committee members were provided with the full, unedited list of public comments.

Ms. Gaier-Evans divided the committee into small groups to discuss root causes of the computer science issues identified by committee members in the homework assignment. The groups discussed for 40 minutes and then shared their finding with the full committee.

Ms. Gaier-Evans led the committee in a full group discussion regarding the issues facing computer science. The small groups reconvened, and group members prioritized the problems identified in the previous small group activity.

Ms. Gaier-Evans concluded the meeting and asked the small groups to email their note catcher documents to computerscience@education.ohio.gov before leaving the meeting.

The next meeting will take place on Wednesday, January 19, 2021.