

## State Committee on Computer Science Summary COSI Columbus, OH 43215 Wednesday, November 17, 2021 9:30 AM – 11:30 AM

## **Meeting Minutes**

*Members present:* Mike Duffey, John Wiseman, Tim Conley, Chelsey Cook Kohn, Mike Eilerman, Patricia Murakami, Bryan Stewart, Brent Wise, Debbie Jackson, Jong Kwan "Jake" Lee, Rebekah Michael, Tom Newman, Tasha Penwell, Paul Sivilotti, Autum Barry, Lisa Chambers, Kristi Clouse, Katie Hendrickson, Kelli Shrewsberry, Tonjia Coverdale, Courtney Falato, Doug McCullough, Lisa Nolan

Members absent: Tsavo Knott, Sean Lane

Committee Chair Mike Duffey, Interim Superintendent Dr. Stephanie Siddens and Vice-Chair John Wiseman offered introductory remarks to the State Committee on Computer Science.

Chair Duffey gave an overview of the committee membership and discussed the charge of the committee as established in House Bill 110.

Chair Duffey indicated the committee will meet through April on the third Wednesday of every month at 9:30 a.m.

Chair Duffey introduced committee facilitator Kelly Gaier-Evans from Battelle. Ms. Gaier-Evans offered introductory remarks and led the committee through an icebreaker activity.

Ms. Gaier-Evans then discussed the connection between data and the charge of the committee and gave the committee in an overview of relevant data sources.

The committee discussed the data presented by Ms. Gaier-Evans in small groups.

Ms. Gaier-Evans then gave the committee and overview of the topics to be discussed by the committee over the upcoming meetings.

The committee was asked to identify three opportunities or challenges if addressed that could make Ohio a leader in computer science before the next meeting.

The next meeting will be taking place on Wednesday, December 15, 2021.